Buy Direct, Support Independent Music!

Easy Gone

Starting at: $9.99

Add to Cart:

Please Choose:

Media Type

  • Model: RHR-269
  • Artist: Ray Bonneville
  • Music Genre: Blues
  • Released on Monday 14 April, 2014

On Easy Gone, Bonneville delivers 10 reasons why longevity pays off. On each song, his taut guitarwork shimmers like the scales on coiled rattler, menacing and confident. His voice carries the rich, natural timbre of time and his harmonica rhythms add an extra dollop of grit to his streetwise sound. Produced by Bonneville and Justin Douglas, Easy Gone wears the faded workclothes of a man who knew when he “said I do to a highway,” as he sings in “Who Do Call the Shots,” that it wasn’t going to be an easy marriage. But he also knew divorce was not an option, and affirms his vows in soulful lyrics that balance thoughtful observation, impassioned emotion and the restless soul of a wanderer.

Songs like “When I Get to New York,” “Mile Marker 41” and “Love is Wicked” percolate with hints of something sinister and sexy. In the bluesy “Wicked,” you can almost hear the finger-poppers lurking in the club’s corners — the ones who might get a little wicked themselves later on. Even the album’s lone cover, of Hank Williams’ classic, “I’m So Lonesome I Could Cry,” carries a groove and momentum that’s Bonneville’s alone. It’s haunting, like many of his songs. He populates a lot of them with society’s fringes: the desperate and dangerous, damaged and vulnerable. With a style that draws comparisons to such artists as JJ Cale and Daniel Lanois, this blues-influenced, New Orleans-inspired “song and groove man,” as he’s been so aptly described, luckily found his rightful calling. Easy Gone is a tour de force that confirms that Ray is an artist whose time has definitely come.

Track Listing

   01 - Who Do Call the Shots - Ray Bonneville

   02 - Shake Off My Blues - Ray Bonneville

   03 - Where Has My Easy Gone - Ray Bonneville

   04 - Love Is Wicked - Ray Bonneville

   05 - When I Get to New York - Ray Bonneville

   06 - Lone Freighter's Wail - Ray Bonneville

   07 - So Lonely I Could Cry - Ray Bonneville

   08 - South Little One - Ray Bonneville

   09 - Mile Marker 41 - Ray Bonneville

   10 - Two Bends in the Road - Ray Bonneville

Customers who bought this product also purchased...

Copyright © 2015 Red House Records.