RHR225 - A Shot Of Love In A Time Of Need - Willie Murphy

A Shot Of Love In A Time Of Need

"Singer/pianist Willie Murphy is the kind of artist for whom the term 'cult hero' was invented...a true American original." - All Music Guide

"sharp, soulful original tracks and a few choice covers...I highly recommend picking it up." - St. Paul Pioneer Press

Willie Murphy returns with his explosive, brand new Red House album, A Shot of Love in a Time of Need. A double-disc album packed with 20 tracks of some of the strongest R & B to come from this decade. Awash in horns, funky rhythms, and eclectic spontaneity, the record oozes with grit and soul. To sit still and listen to the record is next to impossible.

Recorded over the last 8 years, the first disc is filled with soul-groovin' originals like "Actions Speak Louder Than Words," "Sometimes Dreams Come True" and unique takes on classics like "Everything I Do Gonh Be Funky" and the Chris Kenner classic "Land of 1,000 Dances." With its well-crafted lyrics and infectious rhythms, A Shot of Love... is designed to numb the inhibitions and let the music stir the soul.

Included is Autobiographical Notes, the second disc of the album containing tracks that Willie has recorded over the last 30 years, but never made it to an album. Now to everyone's benefit, these tracks come to light and round out an album that is purely awesome. Bookended by two versions of his compelling original "Voice in the Night," the CD shows the range of Willie's vocal, guitar, piano, bass and drum skills, from the bluesy cover of Fred Neil's "Dolphins" to the country-tinged "Hello Don't Mean I Love You."

A Shot of Love in a Time of Need is innovative and colorful--a fantasy of sounds that transcend all musical boundaries. The songs radiate a wild energy that the cover art only hints at, but to listen to the music is to enter Willie's world. One where we all can come together and dance. This is an instant classic from a true musical visionary.

Tour Schedule  Biography  Press Photo  

Order by phone at 1-800-695-4687

Buy Now!  Find a Store!   

Track Listing

   01 - Everything that I Do Gonh Be Funky (From Now On) - Willie Murphy

   02 - Love Attack - Willie Murphy

   03 - Land of 1000 Dances - Willie Murphy

   04 - Life is But a Dream - Willie Murphy

   05 - Actions Speak Louder Than Words - Willie Murphy

   06 - Mud Puddle - Willie Murphy

   07 - Something To It - Willie Murphy

   08 - I'll Be Here - Willie Murphy

   09 - Sometimes Dreams Come True - Willie Murphy

   10 - Voice in the Night - Willie Murphy

   11 - Story of My Love Life - Willie Murphy

   12 - Dolphins - Willie Murphy

   13 - Up Along the Coast - Willie Murphy

   14 - Fairy Tale (early 70s) - Willie Murphy

   15 - Something To It (early 70s) - Willie Murphy

   16 - Hello Don't Mean I Love You - Willie Murphy

   17 - Road Song - Willie Murphy

   18 - Dust to Dust - Willie Murphy

   19 - Ramblin' Revo - Willie Murphy

   20 - Voice in the Night (late at night, after some gig) - Willie Murphy