RHR166 - The Red Thread - Lucy Kaplansky

The Red Thread

"A truly gifted performer . . . strong flat-picking and a bag full of enchanting songs." - The New Yorker

"While Kaplansky sings about the promises and pitfalls of life and love, she does it with the unflinching intelligence and maturity of someone who's observing the human race with x-ray vision and a knowing grin." - Richmond Times-Dispatch

The Red Thread represents a turning point for Lucy as a writer and a recording artist in its depth and range of material. From the rootsy simplicity/minimalism of "Cowboy Singer" and "Brooklyn Train", to the sonic complexity of pop-rockers "Love Song New York" and "Line in the Sand" it will be apparent to all that Lucy has created a compelling and evocative album. The songs are informed by several significant events in their lives, most notably the adoption of her daughter, Molly, from China, as well as their close proximity to Ground Zero in New York City and having witnessed much of the tragedy of 9/11 first-hand. As Lucy writes in the album liner notes, there is an ancient belief in China that when a child is born, an invisible red thread reaches out from the child's spirit to all of the important people who will be a part of the child's life.

Tour Schedule  Biography  Press Photo  

Order by phone at 1-800-695-4687

Buy Now!  Find a Store!   

Track Listing

 01 - I Had Something - Lucy Kaplansky

 02 - Line In The Sand - Lucy Kaplansky

 03 - Love Song-New York - Lucy Kaplansky

 04 - This Is Home - Lucy Kaplansky

 05 - Off And Running - Lucy Kaplansky

 06 - Land Of The Living - Lucy Kaplansky

 07 - Cowboy Singer - Lucy Kaplansky

 08 - Hole In My Head - Lucy Kaplansky

 09 - The Red Thread - Lucy Kaplansky

 10 - Brooklyn Train - Lucy Kaplansky